“The International Institute for the Unification of Private Law (UNIDROIT) is an independent intergovernmental Organisation with its seat in the Villa Aldobrandini in Rome. Its purpose is to study needs and methods for modernising, harmonising and co-ordinating private and in particular commercial law as between States and groups of States and to formulate uniform law instruments, principles and rules to achieve those objectives.”


Membership to UNIDROIT is limited to states that accede to the UNIDROIT statute.

UNIDROIT currently has 63 member states.

Of the Americas, the following states are members:

– Argentina / Argentine
– Bolivia / Bolivie
– Brazil / Brésil
– Canada
– Chile / Chili
– Colombia / Colombie
– Cuba
– Mexico / Mexique
– Nicaragua
– Paraguay
– The United States of America / Etats-Unis d’Amérique
– Uruguay
– Venezuela

Haiti is not a member state.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s